# Brief on the Global AML/CFT Network: The Financial Action Task Force and FATF-Style Regional Bodies

#### The Financial Action Task Force

The Financial Action Task Force (FATF), created in 1989, is an inter-governmental body whose purpose is the development and promotion of national and international policies to combat money laundering and terrorist financing. The FATF currently has 36 members, comprising 34 member countries and territories and two regional organizations, as follows: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, The Kingdom of the Netherlands (includes the Netherlands, Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten), New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Korea, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, the United States, the European Commission, and the Gulf Cooperation Council.

There are also eight FATF-style regional bodies that, in conjunction with the FATF, constitute an affiliated global network to combat money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

#### The Asia/Pacific Group on MoneyLaundering

The Asia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG) was established in 1997. The APG has 41 members: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, China, Cook Islands, Fiji, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tonga, United States, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

## The Caribbean Financial Action Task Force

The Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) was established in 1992. CFATF has 29 members: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Montserrat, Nicaragua, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands, and Venezuela.

# The Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and the Financing of Terrorism

The Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and the Financing of Terrorism (MONEYVAL) was established in 1997 under the acronym PC-R-EV. MONEYVAL is comprised of 30 permanent members and two temporary, rotating FATF members. The permanent members are Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, the Holy See, Hungary, Israel, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, and Ukraine. Temporary members, designated by the FATF for a two-year membership, are currently Austria and France.

#### The Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money Laundering Group

The Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money Laundering Group (ESAAMLG) was established in 1999. Seventeen countries comprise its membership: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

#### The Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism

The Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (EAG) was established in 2004. The EAG has nine members: Belarus, China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

### The Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering in South America

The Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering in South America (GAFISUD) was established in 2000. The 15 GAFISUD members are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay.

## Inter-Governmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa

The Inter-Governmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa (GIABA) was established in 1999. GIABA consists of 16 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

#### The Middle East and North Africa Financial Action Task Force

The Middle East and North Africa Financial Action Task Force (MENAFATF) was established in 2004. MENAFATF has 18 members: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

Source: http://www.state.gov/j/inl/rls/nrcrpt/2014/vol2/222470.htm

# CONTACT ADDRESSES OF THE GLOBAL ANTI-MONEY LAUNDERING AND COUNTER TERRORIST FINANCING NETWORK

Group	Organisation	Contact address
Global	Financial Action Task Force	FATF / GAFI,
		2, rue André Pascal,
		75775 Paris Cedex 16,
		FRANCE
		E-mail: contact@fatf-gafi.org
FSRBs	Eastern and Southern Africa	Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money
	Anti-Money Laundering Group	Laundering Group (ESAAMLG)
	(ESAAMLG)/Groupe anti-	Nyerere Road/Msimbazi Street,
	blanchiment de l'Afrique	Ex-Kamata Building,
	orientale et australe (GABAOA)	PO Box 9923,
		Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
	Intergovernmental Action Group	1er etage, Immabilier A,
	against Money Laundering in	Complexe SICAP,
	Africa (GIABA)/Le Groupe	Avenue Cheikh Anta DIOP X Canal IV,
	intergouvernemental d'action	Point E,
	contre le blanchiment d'argent en	BP 32400, Dakar, Senegal
	Afrique de l'Ouest (GIABA	E-mail: secretariat@giaba.org
	Eurasian Group/Groupe Eurasie	39, Myasnitskaya str.,
	(APG)	Building 1,
		K-450, 107450 Moscow,
		Russian Federation
		E-mail: info@eurasiangroup.org -
	Asia Pacific	110 Goulburn Street,
	Group(APG)/Groupe Asie	NSW 2000 Sydney,
	Pacifique (GAP	Australia
	Caribbean Financial Action Task	CFATF Secretariat,
	Force (CFATF)/Groupe d'action	Sackville House,
	financière des Caraïbes (GAFIC)	35-37 Sackville Street,
		BA000083,
		Trinidad and Tobago
	South America Financial Action	GAFISUD
	Group/ Amérique du Sud	calle Santa Fe 1697 piso 8,
	Groupe d'action financière	1060 C1010 Buenos Aires
	(GAFISUD)	Argentina
		E-mail: contacto@gafisud.org
	Middle East & North Africa	MENAFATF,
	Financial Action Task Force	P.O. Box 10881,
	(MENAFATF)/Groupe d'Action	Manama,
	Financière du Moyen-Orient et	Bahrain
	de l'Afrique du Nord	E-mail: info@menafatf.org
	(GAFIMOAN)	

	1	,
	Committee of Experts on the	Directorate General of Human Rights and
	Evaluation of Anti-money	Legal Affairs
	Laundering measures and the	Directorate of Monitoring
	Financing of Terrorism	Council of Europe
	(moneyval)	67075
		Strasbourg
		France
		E-mail: dg1.moneyva@coe.int
International	International Monetary Fund	International Monetary Fund,
Organisations	(IMF)/Fonds monétaire	1340 Q Street NW,
	international (FMI)	Apt. 23,
		20009 Washington,
		United States
		E-Mail: <u>publicaffairs@imf.org</u>
	World Bank/Banque mondiale	Financial Market Integrity,
		The World Bank,
		Room MC 9-793,
		1818 H Street NW,
		20433 Washington,
		United States
		E-mail: amlcft@worldbank.org

\*\*\*\*\*\*